12 Tennessee counties declared disasters after Memorial Day weekend storms

(source: Drinnen family)

NASHVILLE (WATE) – Twelve Tennessee counties will receive federal aid through a Presidential Disaster Declaration after storms that rolled through on Memorial Day weekend.

Counties included in the presidential declaration are Blount, Cumberland, Fayette, Knox, Loudon, Morgan, Putnam, Rhea, Roane, Sevier, Shelby and Smith.

“Local, state, and federal partners came together in a collaborative effort to assess impacts rapidly so we could have accurate storm damage data and illustrate our need for a disaster declaration to President Trump,” Haslam said. “I am grateful to all the first responders, emergency managers, and community members who have united to help others recover from the impact of these storms.”

Related story: Disaster assistance available to East Tennessee storm damage victims

Those counties are now eligible for the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s Public Assistance Porgram, allowing government entities and certain non-profits to apply for reimbursement of specific, eligible expenses.

FEMA has not yet decided on Gov. Haslam’s request for individual assistance for Shelby County.

The storms began moving across Tennessee on Saturday, May 27, bringing strong wings, hail and flooding. More than 180,000 people were without power in Shelby County. As the storm moved across Tennessee, another 19 counties had power outages, downed trees, blocked roads, and damage to homes.

More online: FEMA Public Assistance Program

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s