Using social media to let family & friends know you’re safe during crisis

fb-safety-check

GATLINBURG (WATE) – In light of the massive fire in Gatlinburg, Monday evening, Facebook has implemented its safety feature to allow users to let their family and friends know they’re safe, called Safety Check.

The feature allows people to connect with friends and loved ones during a disaster.

Here’s how it works, if you’re near a major crisis¬†Facebook will send a notification asking if you’re safe.

When prompted, if you’re ok, click or tap the “I’m safe” button to let friends immediately.

According to Facebook, they will also let you know when friends say they’re safe.

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s