5 chosen for National Civil Rights Museum’s Freedom Awards

FILE - This March 19, 2014 photo shows statues of three women walking next to a replica of a city bus, part of an exhibit about Montgomery's bus boycotts at the newly-renovated National Civil Rights Museum in Memphis, Tenn. The museum, which first opened in 1991, is now ready to show off new, emotionally-moving exhibits and flashy, informative interactive displays. The museum says it attracts 200,000 people every year, but the renovations are impressive enough that they could lead to a spike in visitor turnout. (AP Photo/Adrian Sainz)

MEMPHIS, Tenn. (AP) — The National Civil Rights Museum says it will bestow its annual Freedom Award on journalist Soledad O’Brien, civil rights attorney Benjamin Crump and three others.

The Memphis-based museum gives its Freedom Award each year for work in the advancement of civil and human rights.

Other winners announced Wednesday are U.S. Court of Appeals Judge Damon Jerome Keith; attorney and social justice activist Bryan Stevenson; and Tawakkol Karman, a Yemeni human rights activist and 2011 Nobel Peace Prize winner.

The museum is located at the site of the old Lorraine Motel, where civil rights leader Martin Luther King Jr. was shot and killed in April 1968.

Honorees will receive their awards at a ceremony on Oct. 20.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s