President Obama signs Tennessee disaster declaration

WASHINGTON, D.C. (WATE) – President Barack Obama signed a disaster declaration for the state of Tennessee on Thursday to supplement state and local recovery efforts in areas affected by severe winter storms and flooding last month.

Federal funding is available to local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe winter storm flooding in several counties across the state.

Funds are available to the following counties in East Tennessee : Anderson, Blount, Cumberland, Fentress, Grainger, Hamblen, Hancock, Jefferson, Knox, Loudon, McMinn, Monroe, Roane, Scott and Sevier counties.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency says additional designations can be made at a later date by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s